TBALink HomeSite HelpTBA InformationTennBarU CLELegal ResourcesCourt OpinionsTBALink Home

Bredesen names Wade to fill Supreme Court seat
(Administrative Office of the Courts News Release

NASHVILLE (June 6, 2006) —
Governor Bredesen today appointed Gary R. Wade to the Tennessee Supreme Court. Wade, who has served as presiding judge of the Tennessee Court of Criminal Appeals since 1998, fills one of two vacancies created by the retirements of Justice E. Riley Anderson and Adolpho A. Birch, Jr.

“Gary Wade is a highly qualified judge who has proven himself in the practice of law and his service on the Court of Criminal Appeals,” Bredesen said. “His reputation for fairness and consistency, his strong commitment to the law and his dedication to the timely and faithful dispensation of justice will serve the Tennessee Supreme Court and the citizens of our state well.”

A Tennessee native, Wade resides in Sevier County where he served five two-year terms as mayor of Sevierville prior to his appointment to the Court of Criminal Appeals in 1987. Wade was in private law practice from 1973 to 1987, including eight years as managing partner of Ogle, Wade & Wynn in Sevier County. He also served as city attorney for the City of Pigeon Forge from 1973 to 1987.

“I’m honored to receive this appointment and appreciate the confidence Governor Bredesen has shown in me,” said Wade. “I have developed a judicial philsophy in my career of due process to litigants, courtesy to counsel, faithfulness to the law and accountability to the people. I believe our supreme court is in the best possible position to inspire the confidence of our citizens in the state’s legal system, and I will apply my philosophy to the Supreme Court to help achieve that goal.”

Wade was named Appellate Judge of the Year by the American Board of Trial Advocates in 2004 and received the Judicial Excellence Award from the Knoxville Bar Association in 2005. He is a member and former president of the Tennessee Judicial Conference and a founder of the Tennessee Judicial Conference Foundation, on which he serves as Secretary of the Board of Directors. The foundation is responsible for endowing five need-based scholarships per year for aspiring law students.

The Supreme Court is the highest court in the state and hears appeals in both civil and criminal cases.  The five justices are nominated by the Judicial Selection Commission, appointed by the governor and retained by a “yes-no” vote for eight-year terms.

Wade, 58, graduated from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville and received his legal degree from the University of Tennessee School of Law. He serves on the Board of Directors of several organizations, including Friends of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, The United Way of Sevier County and the Sevier County Library Foundation.  He is also the immediate past president of the Boards of Directors for Knoxville Zoological Gardens and the Walters State Community College Foundation Board.

With the appointment of Wade, the Judicial Selection Commission will now solicit applicants to fill the second vacancy on the Supreme Court and will recommend three of those applicants to the Governor.
Court sets process for filling second seat
Pursuant to the provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated Section 17-4-101 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Judicial Selection Commission will meet to initiate the process of filling the second of two vacancies on the Tennessee Supreme Court to be created by the Aug. 31, retirements of Justices E. Riley Anderson and Adolpho A. Birch, Jr.

The meeting dates will be announced as soon as they are scheduled. Applicants for this position may come from the Middle or Western Grand Divisions.

All interested candidates should submit a completed Applicant Questionnaire to the Commission for its consideration. Applicant Questionnaires are available from and should be submitted through the Administrative Office of the Courts, Suite 600, Nashville City Center, 511 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219. Phone: (615) 741-2687.

Applicant Questionnaires must be received in the Administrative Office of the Courts no later than 4:30 p.m. (CST), June 30; however, the Commission encourages all candidates to submit applications as early as possible.

For more information, visit the AOC web site.

HomeContact UsPageFinderWhat's NewHelp
© Copyright 2006 Tennessee Bar Association