TBALink HomeSite HelpTBA InformationTennBarU CLELegal ResourcesCourt OpinionsTBALink Home

Chattanooga Bar Association elects officers, presents awards

The Chattanooga Bar Association celebrated its 109th Annual Meeting at noon today, Jan. 17, at the Marriott at the Convention Center.

CBA officers elected
President - James M. Haley, IV of Miller & Martin
President-Elect - Cynthia D. Hall of Franklin, Cooper & Marcus
Secretary-Treasurer - The Honorable Barry Steelman, Judge, Criminal Court, Division I
Immediate Past-President - Joseph R. White of Spears, Moore, Rebman & Williams

Board of Governors members:

Barry L. Abbott of Cavett & Abbott
David M. Elliott of Grant, Konvalinka & Harrison
Ira Long, Jr. of Weill, Durand & Long
John T. Rice of John T. Rice, PC
The Honorable Jacqueline E. Schulten, Judge, Circuit Court, Division I
Christopher T. Varner of Gearhiser, Peters, Lockaby, Cavett & Elliott
Lynda M. Hood, CBA Executive Director

Chattanooga Bar Association Awards for 2006
The Albert L. Hodge Volunteer Award
This award is given to an attorney with exemplary volunteer service to the Chattanooga Bar Association and the legal community. The Albert L. Hodge Volunteer Award recipient is William R. Hannah of Chambliss, Bahner & Stophel.

The Harry Weill Zealous Practice of Law Award
The Harry Weill Zealous Practice of Law Award  is presented annually to a  member of the bar whose energetic and enthusiastic service to clients  is worthy of praise, and whose polite and dignified manner, even in the most contentious situations, provides a model of civility that is worthy of emulation. The Harry Weill Zealous Practice of Law Award recipient is Paul Campbell Jr. of Campbell & Campbell.

The President's Award
The President's Award is give to a person who has most helped the President in his/her year in office.

The President's Award recipient's for 2006 are:
Lynda Minks Hood, CBA Executive Director
Wanda Paschal, CBA Administrative Assistant

The Ralph H. Kelley Humanitarian Award
In a Resolution set forth on September 17, 1993, this award is to be given to that member of the legal profession or judicial officer who has displayed exemplary service to the community of Chattanooga by civic, professional and/or other activities directed toward improvement and preservation of the lives, property and dignity of its citizens.

 Criteria for the award includes: member in good standing of the Chattanooga Bar Association or a Judicial Officer; a minimum of 15 years tenure in the Chattanooga legal community; and recognized community service with emphasis on social service of both public and charitable nature, as set forth in the resolution establishing the award.  Nominations are solicited from the members of the Chattanooga legal community as well as the community at large.

The Ralph K. Kelley Humanitarian Award recipient for 2006 is Virginia Ann Sharber of Miller & Martin.

HomeContact UsPageFinderWhat's NewHelp
© Copyright 2007 Tennessee Bar Association