TBALink HomeSite HelpTBA InformationTennBarU CLELegal ResourcesCourt OpinionsTBALink Home

Commission on Civic Education organizes
The commission authorized last year to make recommendations to improve the practice of civic education in Tennessee schools held its organizational session today. 

The TBA backed the creation of the 14-member commission because of its deep and abiding interest in law-related and civics education in Tennessee.  Among the commission members — which includes educators and lawmakers — is Bill Haltom, Immediate Past President of the TBA and President of the Tennessee Legal Community Foundation. 

At the organizational session the commission decided to research programs in other states and to pursue a survey of current curriculum in Tennessee schools. The commission will next meet on Monday, May 7, in conjunction with statewide civic education activities . 

Commission on Civic Education in Tennessee
The following lists indicates the commission members and the organizations they represent or were appointed by. The commission will be made up of at least 14 members.

– Alphonso C. Mance, representing the largest professional association representing educators

– William H. Haltom, representing the Tennessee legal community

– Nissa D. Dahlin-Brown, representing the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy

– Brenda Carroll Ables, representing the Department of Education

– Rebecca M. Verner, representing the Tennessee Council on Social Studies

– Ernie Bentley, representing the Tennessee Association of Elementary and Middle School Principals

– Ralph T. Everette, representing the Tennessee Association of Secondary School Principals

– Carol Goodman Hidalgo, representing the Tennessee business community

– Jennifer Gilligan Cole, appointed by the governor as a representative of the citizens of Tennessee

– Rep. Les Winningham and Rep. Gerald McCormick,
appointed by the Speaker of the Tennessee House of Representatives

- Sen. Rosalind Kurita and Sen. Jamie Woodson, appointed by the Speaker of the Senate

- Gerald Reed, Secretary of State designee
Read the statute creating the commission
See a list of commission members

HomeContact UsPageFinderWhat's NewHelp
© Copyright 2007 Tennessee Bar Association