TBALink HomeSite HelpTBA InformationTennBarU CLELegal ResourcesCourt OpinionsTBALink Home

TBA makes recommendations
for Judicial Nominating Commission

The TBA has recommended 36 lawyers to serve on the newly created Judicial Nominating Commission. After a grueling 4 1/2 hour meeting Thursday (Aug. 13, 2009), during which there were some 19 rounds of balloting, the TBA Board of Governors recommended 12 lawyers in each grand division to Lieutenant Governor Ron Ramsey and Speaker Kent Williams for appointment to the judicial selection body. The recommendations are widely diverse as to practice type, gender, race and urban/rural residency. TBA President Gail Ashworth called the group "superbly qualified."

Western Grand Division Recommendations

Middle Grand Division Recommendations

Eastern Grand Division Recommendations
Mary Beard of Fed Ex in Memphis
Bob Boston of Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis LLP in Nashville
Edward Brading of Herndon, Coleman, Brading & McKee in Johnson City
Phillip Bivens, District Attorney General for the 29th Judicial District in Dyersburg
Julie Burnstein of Partner, Leader, Bulso, Nolan & Burnstein PLC in Nashville
Arthur Brock of Spears, Moore, Rebman & Williams in Chattanooga
Christopher Campbell of Harris Shelton Hanover & Walsh in Memphis
Robert Davies, Attorney at Law in Franklin
Thomas Davenport Jr., Attorney/Mediator in Bristol
Elizabeth Collins of Thomason, Hendrix, Harvey, Johnson & Mitchell in Memphis
Ana Escobar of Escobar Law Group in Nashville
David Eldridge of Eldridge & Blakney, P.C. in Knoxville
David Cook of The Hardison Law Firm in Memphis
Kim Helper, District Attorney General for the 21st Judicial Disrict in Franklin
Theresa Lee of Eastman Chemical Company in Kingsport
Barbara Deans of Linebarger, Goggan, Blair & Sampson LLP in Memphis
Samuel Jones, In-House Counsel with Nissan in Franklin
Jason Long of London & Amburn, P.C. in Knoxville
Lewis Jenkins of Wilkerson Gauldin Hayes & Jenkins in Dyersburg
Jim Kay of Kay, Griffin, Enkema and Brothers PLLC in Nashville
Bob Murrian of Reeves, Herbert & Murrian PA in Knoxville
Edward Martindale, Attorney at Law in Jackson
William Ozier of Bass, Berry & Sims, PLC in Nashville
Denise Stapleton of Terry, Terry & Stapleton in Morristown
Bruce McMullen of Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz in Memphis
Sue Palmer of Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations in Nashville
Carmen Ware of Leitner, Williams, Dooley & Napolitan PLLC in Chattanooga
Caren Nichol of Evans Petree PC in Memphis
Gary Shockley of Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz in Nashville
David Yoder of Legal Aid of East Tennessee in Knoxville
Russell Reviere of Rainey, Kizer, Reviere & Bell in Memphis
Scott Sims of Walker, Tipps & Malone PLC in Nashville
Brent Young of Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz in Johnson City
Carl Seely of Divorce Incorporated in Jackson
Joycelyn Stevenson of Bradley Arant Boult Cummings, LLP in Nashville
Bill Young, general counsel for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Tennessee in Chattanooga

© Copyright 2009 Tennessee Bar Association